Navaratri 2021!






Sharad Navratri (September - October) is the nine-day Hindu festival dedicated to Mother Goddess Durga and her numerous forms in Hindu religion. Sharad Navratri 2021 dates are from October 7 to October 14, 2021 in India as per Hindu Calendar.

Navratri began yesterday, 6th of October but because it was a kshaya Tithi, we begin today in the western hemisphere. Today, 7th of October, we perform out ghatstapana, shailaputri mata and Brahmacharimi Mata pujas.

The festival is of great importance as it is the most significant festival dedicated to Mother Goddess in Hinduism.

The nine-day festival of Navratri in Hinduism celebrates the victory of good over evil - Dharma overcomes Adharma with the blessing of Goddess Durga.

The nine-day festival begins on the first day of the bright half of Ashwin or Ashwayuja (September-October) as per traditional Hindu lunar calendar.

2021 Navratri Calendar

Day 1 – October 7 – Ghatasthapana – Chandra Darshan – Shailputri Puja

Day 2 – October 8 – Brahmacharini Devi Puja

Day 3 – October 9 – Sindoor Tritiya – Chitrangada Devi Puja

Day 4 – October 0 – Upang Lalita Vrat – Lalitha Panchami – Kushmanda Devi Puja

Day 5 – October 11 – Skanda Mata Puja

Day 6 – October 11 – Katyayani Devi Puja

Day 7 – October 12 – Kalaratri Devi Puja

Day 8 – October 13 – Mahashtami – Mahagauri Devi Puja

Day 9 – October 14 – Maha Navami – Siddhidatri Devi Puja

Day 10 – October 15 - Dussehra

Saraswati Avahan in Maharashtra is on Oct 21.

Saraswati Puja is on Oct 22 in Maharashtra.

Saraswati Balidan is on October 23 in Maharashtra.

Mahalakshmi Puja is on October 23 in Maharashtra.

The tenth day is celebrated as Dasara or Vijaya Dashami. (October 15, 2021)

The nine days are famous for Bathukamma in Telangana (Oct 7 to Oct 14).

Dasara in Mysore (Karnataka) is from (October 7 to October 15)

Vijaya Dashami in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala is marked on October 15, 2021

Vidyarambham in Kerala is on October 15, 2021. (Puja Vyappu is on the evening of October 13, 2021).

Significance of Navratri

Mother Goddess Shakti who appears in various forms to save and protect her children are worshipped on the nine days. There is no end to her forms. Whenever her children are in difficulty she takes a form to annihilate the evil and protect her children like a caring mother. She is the all providing mother who nourishes and feeds her children. Life on earth exists due to her blessing.

Symbolically the first three days of Navratri are an opportunity to overcome inertia (Tamas), the next three days are dedicated to overcoming passion (Rajas) and the next three days are for keeping the mind eternally focused on purity (Sattva).

The nine days are an opportunity to reboot. Make positive changes to life with blessings of Maa Durga.

Navratri - Importance and Spiritual Significance

Every Hindu festival has a spiritual message for the sadhaka. This nine-day festival celebrates the triumph of good over evil. In fact the theme of the entire Vedas is reflected in the Navratri festival: first remove all negativities; then purify the mind and cultivate positive virtues; and finally gain spiritual knowledge and transcend all limitations.

Nava means nine and ratri means night. During these nine nights the Mother Goddess is worshipped in her variously manifested forms as Durga, Laxmi and Saraswati.

On the first three nights Durga is invoked for her strength and ferocity which are required to cut out from the mind its strong rooted, deep-seated negative tendencies.

Goddess Laxmi is (then) worshipped on the next three nights. She is invited to bring in her wealth of noble values to nourish and purify the cleansed mind.

Finally Goddess Saraswati is invoked on the last three nights to bestow the Higher Knowledge of the Self possible only after cleansing and purification have taken place.

With the dawn of spiritual wisdom the little ego is destroyed. This destruction is commemorated on the 10th night with the burning of an effigy. This 10th day is called Vijayadashami (Vijaya-victory,dashmi-ten); or Vidyarambha (Vidya-wisdom, knowledge, rambha-joy) Victory Day or the Joy of Enlightenment respectively.

At Navaratri time the Rasa (dance of joy) of Shree Krishna and the Gopis is also performed. As the mind becomes purer, calmer quieter, a greater understanding of the nature of the Inner Self is revealed, giving rise to joy and happiness which is expressed in this dance of Realization.

Why is the Navratri Festival celebrated at night? The spiritual message of night-time worship is that “you have lived long enough in the sleepy realm of tamas, it is time to get up now.

Source: An article published in the magazine October 2000 edition of Chinmayam a magazine of Chinmaya Mission.

Navratri Traditional Puja

House should be cleaned properly.

The person performing puja should take bath early in the morning.

Sankalp or decision should be made to have a peaceful nine days.

No alcohol, smoking, paan, and sexual intercourse during the nine days.

The first puja is performed to Ganesha.

Next puja should be offered to Matrika, Lokpal, Navagraha, and Varuna.

Mother Goddess is offered the usual sixteen step puja (Shodashopachara Puja)

Puja should be offered to Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati, and Mahakali.

Chant a Mother Goddess Mantra daily.

Begins with Ghatasthapana

Wheat or Jowar is sowed in a clay flat pot on the first day of Navratri. Water is sprinkled and it is covered with Mango leaves. The first shoots will appear on the third day. It then grows quickly symbolically representing fertility, hope, and progress. It is also a sign of good health and wealth.

In South and Eastern parts of India this ritual is skipped.